Soothsayer

“I’m a lot less eloquent these days.”

“That’s good. You’re a lot less capable these days, you should talk less.”

Ouch.

I could have reminded him that I was capable enough to have saved his ass. But I didn’t. Because he didn’t need reminding.

And that is why I listen to him.

I have been wrong about so many things today. A wok that is on the verge of breaking may yet prove that its user has some serious violent tendencies, but that hardly counts. It is good to know these wrongs were committed in the presence of people who have other things to be concerned about than to harbour lasting resentment towards me. But I haven’t felt such guilt in quite awhile either. And I have a feeling I won’t be seeing any of them again for a long time.

A coupla long pitches and you’re a regular charlatan ain’t it. Pfeh, you haven’t even got an Aunt Suzie to dedicate your shit to.